Out with Mommy

Mom Makeover from Mom.me

Posted on: May 17, 2013

Image

I was just looking for a free highlight job when I saw on one of my mommy boards that a national mom blog was seeking a makeover subject.  I put my name in the hat, and soon I was a finalist, and then the chosen one for a Mom.me Mommy Makeover.

The makeover team, from stylist to coordinator, were top-notch professionals.  The prep for the makeover and photo shoot was intensive, as was the actual makeover process.  I felt like I was back in my film product days – early call time, no breaks for lunch, hustle and hurry from hair to make-up  to wardrobe.

After all was said and done to me, the end result was … not what I expected, but a great experience and worthwhile, especially to have met and worked with the team.  I learned a few fashion lessons – to not fear my curves, go bolder, accessorize, and some grooming tips – shape my brows, let my hair be messy, and in general, dress the part and you will feel it.

Image

I’ve maintained some of the look I was given.  I’ve worn the clothes (yes, they let me keep them!), and I got some The Joey Healy Elite Sculpting Tweezers to maintain my brows, and I am accessorizing more.  I did however wash out the color from my hair.  I’ve been a blond all my life, and the dark hair just didn’t feel like me.  I’m also letting it grow out, as I like my hair longer.  But it was worth a try at least once in my life to be brunette, or auburn as it were.

Image

The story on the site was a bit embarrassing.  I think I oversold my “poor me” story, as I sound like a sad sack.  I do have my ups and downs as I search for a new job, but my outlook is not so grim as it sounds in the article.  I really did want the highlights.  Little did I know they would be auburn!

Thanks again to Mom.me for the makeover.  They have an awesome site.

Leave a Reply

Tom Mommy Blogs

Please click! A visit a day boosts my blog ranking at Top Mommy Blogs - The Best Mommy Blog Directory Ever!

Out with Mommy

More

NetworkedBlogs

adsense

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 580 other followers

Blogroll

Top Family Sites

The Mom Blogs

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 580 other followers

