Out with Mommy

Mommy Knows Best – Kudos to a Mommy Blogger on Ricky Martin’s Coming Out

Posted on: March 30, 2010

Now I feel guilty.  I often hit “delete” when I get one of those mommy blog newsletters with recipes for the perfect souffle or tips for scrapbooking, because those types of Junior League topics just aren’t my thing, but today I got a post from Momlogic that made me realize I need to not be a mom snob about these SAHMs (for the unindoctrinated, that’s Stay At Home Moms).  Here’s what one mommy blogger (granted, her pen name is Radical Mommy) had to say about Ricky Martin coming out:
 
 
Hey Son, It’s OK To Be Gay!Tuesday, March 30, 2010

 

I was so thrilled to hear that Ricky Martin finally came out of the closet. I want my 4-year-old son to know that it’s totally OK if he’s gay. In fact, deep down, I might secretly want him to be ….

ricky  martin

Getty Images

Radical Mommy: I don’t claim to know what it’s like growing up knowing that you’re gay and having to hide such a big part of yourself from the world. But I do know that the gay men and women I know who were accepted and embraced by parents and friends when they came out say they are much happier, and are much more secure now because of it.

Having a gay child has never, ever been an issue for me, and when I met my husband, I was thrilled to discover that it was a nonissue for him as well. Of course, like all parents, we want the best for our child, and I would never want my son to suffer because of who he is and how idiots might see him if he’s gay. But gay people do not chose to be gay — they ARE gay.

Some of my friends say they knew they were gay from a very young age (as early as 4). Well, if that’s my son, then that’s great with me — I only hope he feels comfortable enough to tell us when he is young, so he doesn’t have to feel shame or fear (at least in his own home).

Now, don’t get me wrong: I’m not saying I want him to be gay (well … maybe a little; after all, then I could have TWO sons when he meets someone), but I’m not saying that I want him to be straight, either. What I want is for my son to be who he is, not who society or bigots (or even my husband and I) tell him he should be.

In an effort to let our son know that we love him exactly how he is, whenever my husband and I talk to him about his future, and how one day he’ll fall in love with someone, we ALWAYS make it a point to say, “You may meet a girl OR boy who you fall in love with.”

I am proud of the way we are raising our son. If he isn’t gay, so be it — but hopefully he will take with him all the love, affection, acceptance and tolerance that his parents have for ALL of humanity and spread it wherever he goes.

I hope our attitudes will teach him that it’s not OK to judge people, make fun of people or ostracize people just because you don’t like or agree with something about them. I hope our attitudes will teach him that it’s OK to stand up for other people, even people who are different from you. I hope our attitudes will teach him that love and respect are the ONLY things worthy of filling his heart and head with.

I wanted to know more about what my husband and I can do to raise a child who is comfortable with who he is and accepting of people who aren’t the same as him, so I spoke to parenting expert “Gay Uncle” Brett Berk. Here’s what he had to say:

“Sounds to me like your current pro-gay practices are pretty spot-on. Normalizing homosexuality for young kids — through casual exposure to gay friends, by providing awareness of the idea that there’s a range of human sexuality, by suggesting options beyond hetero-normativism — is the best way for them to think of being gay as … normal (which obviously it is).

“My only concern would be not to overdo it on the whole ‘falling in love’ thing. I find that parents often tend to focus in on this stuff too much from an early age, and it just feels like a silly form of pressure to put on kids’ nascent social relationships (see my post on BFF BS). When a 5-year-old (regardless of gender) tells me that they just broke up with their boyfriend or girlfriend, I think that someone in their life has done them a huge disservice. Oh, and being gay, like being straight, isn’t only about love. It’s also about genetics, and animal magnetism, and attraction, and fun and sex. But you certainly don’t need to tell your kid about all that.”

Leave a Reply

<<
Please click! A visit a day boosts my blog ranking at Top Mommy Blogs - The Best Mommy Blog Directory Ever!
MomsLA

BlogHer Badge

Out with Mommy

More

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 100 other followers

Top Family Sites
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 100 other followers

